SONIC STATION is a Swedish AOR project. Guitarist, composer and producer Alexander Kronbrink along with his friend in the neighborhood Jonathan Fritzén had jam sessions for fooling around with jazz harmonies and even trying out some of their own compositions. When Alexander was studying music at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm, he teamed up with Marika Willstedt, a singer and pianoplayer, and they started writing music and playing together. This collaboration turned out to be the beginning of SONIC STATION. From the very beginning, this project has been based in the 80's music and the west coast-sound, as performed by artists like Kenny Loggins, TOTO and Michael McDonald for instance. Their sound is a meticulous and exciting mixture of pop, rock and jazz, focusing on melody. They debuted their self-titled album in 2012 and released the 2nd album "Next Stop" through Avenue Of Allies on May 23rd 2014. "Next Stop" contains 11 tracks and great guests below appear as an additional musician. It is produced, arranged and mixed by Alexander Kronbrink and mastered by Mats "Limpan" Lindfors. 

SONIC STATION は スウェーデンの AOR プロジェクトです。 ギタリストで プロデューサーでもある Alexander Kronbrink は、近所の友人 Jonathan Fritzén と ジャズのハーモニーや自分たちで作った曲などで ジャムセッションをして遊んでいました。 そして Alexander が ストックホルムの王立音楽学校在学中に、シンガーでピアニストでもある Marika Willstedt と組んで曲を作ったり、一緒に演奏したりし始めていて、このコラボがきっかけとなり SONIC STATION というプロジェクトの始まりとなっています。 このプロジェクトは 当初から、例えば Kenny Loggins や TOTO あるいは Michael McDonald などのアーティストのような 80年代の音楽やウエストコーストサウンドをベースにしてきていて、彼らはポップやロック それにジャズなどを混合し メロディを重視した綿密でエキサイティングな音作りをしています。 2012年にセルフタイトルのアルバムでデビューし、今年5月23日に2作目 "Next Stop" を Avenue Of Allies よりリリースしています。 この新作アルバムは全11曲入りで、下記の素晴らしいミュージシャンたちがゲストで参加しています。 プロデュース、アレンジ および ミキシングは Alexander Kronbrink が行っていて、マスタリングは Mats "Limpan" Lindfors が手掛けています。 日本では CD、MP3 とも下記の amazon Japan にて購入可能です。


[ Members ]

Alexander Kronbrink: Guitars, Synthesizers, Compositions, Producer, Engineer

Marika Willstedt: Vocals

Johan Boding: Vocals

Jonathan Fritzén: Keyboards

Erik Metall: Bass

Thorleif Robertsson: Drums


Next Stop (2014)


01. Amelia

02. Catch Me If You Can

03. Brighter After Dark

04. Fool For Your Love

05. Stopped Beating

06. Where Are You Now?

07. Half Of My Heart

08. Broken Man

09. Love Clash

10. Last Goodbye

11. Hide And Seek

[ Additional musicians ]

Mathias Garnås: Bass on tracks 2, 4 and background vocals

Arvid Svenungsson: Additional synthesizers on track 5

Andreas Ekstedt: Percussion on tracks 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11

Conny Lindgren: Strings on tracks 4, 8, 11

Matilda Bådagård: Background vocals

Matilda Lindell: Background vocals

Rebecca Petersson: Background vocals

Uffe Söderberg: Background vocals

on BURRN April 2015

[Digital Download]

SONIC STATION Website | facebook

Write a comment

Comments: 0