ATLAS is a newcomer Melodic Hard Rock band from the North of England and founded by keyboard player James Thorley in early 2017. They have the intention to create a band that centered its roots around the AOR and Melodic Rock genre whilst delving into other areas of Hard Rock, Metal, Progressive and even Jazz. The band has just released worldwide its debut album “In Pursuit Of Memory” through AOR Heaven on September 28th, 2018. The album was recorded and engineered by James Thorley at his studio ‘The Woodshed’. Thorley also took on the role of the producer as he did on the band's previous self-released EP. The album features Sam Millar of BIGFOOT as guest vocals. His vocal harmony contributions can be heard throughout most of the tracks. Also, the album was mixed and mastering by Christoffer Borg (Taste, Art Nation). Borg’s credits can be seen on many albums of include Anthrax, Evergrey, and Kee Marcello, gave the group confidence that he would be able to do the variety of songs they had written the justice it sonically deserved. ATLAS drew heavily on influences stemming from the AOR classic standards of Toto and Journey to the modern era of Work of Art and W.E.T with subtle progressive elements of Dream Theater. However, since band vocalist Craig Wells has a voice resembles a young Bon Jovi's, fans of Bon Jovi might be loved their music as well.


ATLAS は、2017年初頭にキーボード・プレイヤーの James Thorley によって作られた、イングランド北部出身の新しいメロディック・ハードロックバンドです。彼らはハードロック、メタル、プログレッシブ、あるいはジャズなど他の分野を掘り下げつつ、AOR やメロディックロックのジャンルを中心としたバンドを作り上げようとしています。ATLAS は先月9月28日にデビューアルバム “In Pursuit Of Memory” を AOR Heaven より世界リリースしたばかりです。アルバムは James Thorley が自分のスタジオ The Woodshed で収録・処理を行い、前作の自主リリース EP と同様プロデュースも彼が手掛けています。ゲストボーカルとして BIGFOOT のSam Millar が参加しており、ほとんどの楽曲を通して彼のボーカルハーモニーを聴くことができます。また、Christoffer Borg (Taste、Art Nation) がミキシングとマスタリングを担当しており、Anthrax や Evergrey、Kee Marcello など多くのアルバムで見かける彼の名前がクレジットされることは、バンドにとって作品作りへの大きな自信につながりました。ATLAS は Toto や Journey の古典的な AOR から現代の Work Of Art や W.E.T、さらに Dream Theater の繊細なプログレッシブの要素などの影響を強く受けています。とはいえ、ボーカル Craig Wells の声は若い頃のボン・ジョビに似ているので、ボン・ジョビのファンも彼らの楽曲が気に入るかもしれません。デビューアルバムは下記のオンラインストアにて購入可能です。


[ Members ]

Craig Wells: Vocals

Howie Little: Guitars, Acoustic Guitar

John Moss: Guitars

James Thorley: Keys, Percussion

Christian Redfearn: Bass, Acoustic Guitar


In Pursuit Of Memory (2018)


01. Samsara

02. Bad Habit

03. Breathe Me In

04. Flesh And Blood

05. As Time Goes By

06. In The Frame

07. Lock And Key

08. Seasons Change

09. Signal Of Hope

10. Letting Go

11. Supernova

12. Live And Forget



Write a comment

Comments: 0