New Release - EDGE OF THORNS

EDGE OF THORNS 3作目アルバム "Insomnia" を4月4日リリース



German Heavy Metal act EDGE OF THORNS will release their 3rd album "Insomnia" through Killer Metal Records on April 4th 2014. The band was founded in 1996 by Dirk 'Duke' Schmitt (vocals, guitars) and Johannes Schütz (drums) in Bitburg and since the beginning of the start they have own compositions. After several self-produced demos in 2003, EDGE OF THORNS released their first album “Ravenland” (2004) and the 2nd "Masquerading Of The Wicked" (2007). They played with bands like Judas Priest, Dragonforce, Sabaton, Brainstorm, U.D.O., Subway to Sally, Rage, Sacred Steel, Tankard, Holy Moses, Korpiklani, Freedom Call, Perzonal War among others as well as performances on countless festivals like “Rock am Ring”, “Rock Harz” or “Queens of Metal”. Their musical style is a stamping sound and catchy Metal song mix up with speedy double-bass-killers, varying vocals, hard riffing, melodies and lunatic guitar solos without losing sight of the song. Because of the family and job-wise reasons, the band had to have the line-up changes on many occasions. Now EDGE OF THORNS is back with a new line-up for this new album. It contains 12 songs and is featured Ralf Scheepers (ex-GAMMA RAY, PRIMAL FEAR) as a guest singer on a metal hymn "Metal Unity". It's for a fan of RAGE and GAMMARAY.


ドイツのヘビーメタルバンド EDGE OF THORNS の3作目 "Insomnia" が、4月4日 Killer Metal Records より リリースされます。 1996年ビットブルグで、ボーカルでギタリストの Dirk 'Duke' Schmitt と ドラムの Johannes Schütz によって作られたバンドで、当初からオリジナル曲を制作していました。 EDGE OF THORNS は 自主制作のデモ曲を2003年に出した後、2004年にファーストアルバム "Ravenland" を 2007年にセカンドアルバム "Masquerading Of The Wicked" を リリースしています。 また、彼らは Rock am Ring とか Rock Harz あるいは Queens of Metal といったフェスティバルにも数多く出演していて、 Judas Priest、 Dragonforce、 Sabaton、 Brainstorm、 U.D.O.、 Subway to Sally、 Rage、 Sacred Steel、 Tankard、 Holy Moses、 Korpiklani、 Freedom Call、 Perzonal War などと一緒にプレイしたこともあります。 楽曲的には、疾走感のあるダブルベースと 表現力豊かなボーカル、ハードなリフやメロディに 狂人的なギターソロを混ぜ込んだ、踏みつけるようなサウンドを持つキャッチーなメタル曲です。 家族や仕事面での問題で、その都度メンバー変更が余儀なくされてきた EDGE OF THORNS ですが、新ラインナップで今回のアルバムを制作し、戻ってきました。 このアルバムは全12曲入りで、メタル賛歌ともいえる "Metal Unity" の曲では Ralf Scheepers (ex-GAMMA RAY, PRIMAL FEAR) がゲストシンガーとして歌っています。 RAGE や GAMMARAY のファンにお勧めです。


  Metal Unity

Insomnia (2014)


01. In Your Dreams

02. Dark Side Of Your Life

03. Yearning Has Begun

04. Insomnia

05. Metal Unity

      (feat. Ralf Scheepers)

06. The Watchmaker

07. A Caress Of Souls

08. Walking Like A Ghost

09. Death Dealer

10. ... Of Hearts That Burn

11. The 7 Sins Of Arthur McGregor

12. ... Is This The Way It Ends

Click here to enlarge
Album Chart on BURRN August 2014

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Li (Tuesday, 11 March 2014 00:02)

    Yeahhh Power Metal!