New Release - WEAPON UK

WEAPON UK ファーストアルバム "Rising From The Ashes" 4月22日リリース



The original NWOBHM band WEAPON UK is back with their very first album "Rising From The Ashes" which will be released through Sound Discs on April 22nd 2014. WEAPON UK (at that time the band called WEAPON) was formed in 1980 by Danny Hynes (Lead Vocals) looking for a band and Jeff Summers (Guitar/Vocals) looking for a singer. The band has released so far under the name of WEAPON, 2 singles "It's A Mad Mad World" (1980) and "Ready 4 U" (2011), Demo '81 (1981) and a compilation album "Set The Stage Alight" (2003) which included some demos, was released through Zoom Club Records. They had numerous gigs and joined the MOTORHEAD's tour to support. WEAPON (UK) was mentioned on the METALLICA's Biography "Damage Incorporated" published in 2006. According to it, METALLICA opened its early live sets (and "Kill 'Em All" album) with "Hit The Lights" a song that begins with a noisy two-chord flourish meant to evoke the opening of a concert. However, in a further illustration of NWOBHM’s important role in METALLICA's musical direction, the opening flourish ― drum fills and all ― seems to have been lifted straight from the beginning of "Set The Stage Alight," a 1980 B-side by the band WEAPON (UK). In 2005, WEAPON UK has celebrated their 25th anniversary and played at HEADBANGERS OPEN AIR BALL in Germany. Album "Rising From The Ashes" produced by four experienced musicians will not disappoint a fan of NWOBHM.


元祖 NWOBHM バンド WEAPON UK が、4月22日に Sound Discs より リリースされる ファースト アルバム "Rising From The Ashes" で戻ってきます。 WEAPON UK (当時は WEAPON というバンド名) は、バンドを探していた Danny Hynes (リードボーカル) と シンガーを探していた Jeff Summers (ギター/ボーカル) のふたりが1980年に作った英国のバンドです。 バンドはこれまでに WEAPON 名義で、ふたつのシングル "It's A Mad Mad World" (1980) と "Ready 4 U" (2011) を、1981年には "Demo '81" というデモ盤を、そして2003年に Zoom Club Records より デモ曲を何曲か収録した "Set The Stage Alight" という コンピレーション アルバムを出しています。 彼らは 数多くのライブをこなしてきていて、サポートバンドとして MOTORHEAD のツアーにも同行したことがあります。 また、2006年に発行された METALLICA の経歴 "Damage Incorporated" にも WEAPON (UK) のことが言及されています。 それによると、METALLICA の初期のライブ (や "Kill 'Em All" のアルバム) では、コンサートの開始を告げる 2つのギターによる 高揚感をあおるような曲 "Hit The Lights" で開演していたが、METALLICA の音楽的な方向性における NWOBHM の果たす役割の重要性 という 別の解説では、ドラムフィルを含む すべてを使ってのオープニングは、WEAPON (UK) バンドの1980年の B 面の曲 "Set The Stage Alight" (ステージを沸かせる) の最初から直に盛り上がるようだ と書かれています。 2005年には、WEAPON UK はバンド結成25周年を祝っていて、ドイツで HEADBANGERS OPEN AIR BALL にも出演しました。 経験豊富な4人のミュージシャンによるアルバム "Rising From The Ashes" は、NWOBHM ファンを決して失望させません。 日本では amazon Japan にて購入可能です。


Rising From The Ashes (2014)


01. Prelude - The Awakening

02. Ride The Mariah!

03. Fountain Of Paradise

04. Warrior

05. Ready 4 U

06. Burning Skies

07. Alamein

08. Wonderland

09. Bloodsoaked Rock

10. Bad Reputation

11. Celebration Time

12. Killer Instinct *

* Bonus Track


amazon Japan

Click here to enlarge
on BURRN September 2014

Write a comment

Comments: 0