Click here to enlarge


ASTRA is an Italian Progressive Metal act, originally started back in 2001 in Rome as an instrumental project. The band has accomplished the winning of the first Italian Official Dream Theater Tribute Band Contest in May 2002, as well as a club tour in Italy. ASTRA has released so far 2 full length albums; "About Me: Through Life And Beyond" (2006) and "From Within" (2009), and now ASTRA is back on the road with their long-awaited third album "Broken Balance" which was released through Scarlet Records on April 15th, 2014. ASTRA, centered around keyboard wizard Emanuele Casali (DGM), have renovated their sound to make it less focused on the virtuosity of its members and make a collective effort to write great songs with strong and memorable choruses. The lyrical concept itself evolves around the different meanings of “change”, as each of these 12 new songs suggest. The guitar riffs range from Symphony X precision to Queensryche’s late 80s/early 90s vibe. The vocal arrangements are superb, suggesting a feel for the best in current metal production but also showing an appreciation for classic art rock like Queen or Styx. ASTRA website is under construction, you can visit their facebook page to get more info.


ASTRA はイタリアのプログレッシブメタルバンドで、そもそもローマでインストルメンタルのプロジェクトとして2001年から始動しています。バンドはイタリアでのクラブツアーをはじめ、2002年5月にイタリア初の Dream Theater トリビュートバンドコンテストで優勝を果たしました。ASTRA はこれまでに "About Me: Through Life And Beyond" (2006) と "From Within" (2009) という2つのフルアルバムをリリースしていて、先月4月15日に Scarlet Records よりリリースされた待望の3作目 "Broken Balance" で第一線に戻って来ています。キーボードの名士 DGM の Emanuele Casali と中心に ASTRA は、メンバーたちの妙技中心のサウンドにならないよう改善し、パワフルで印象的なコーラスでいい曲を作ることに総力を挙げました。12曲それぞれが示しているように、歌詞のコンセプトは「変化」の異なる意味を軸に展開しています。ギターリフには、Symphony X の精度や80年代後半から90年代初頭の Queensryche の雰囲気を持った幅広さがあります。現在のメタル作品におけるベストを感じさせ、Queen や Styx といった古典ロックの芸術に対する尊敬の念が伺えます。この最新作 "Broken Balance" は、amazon Japan または iTunes Japan にて購入可能です。現在 ASTRA のホームページ は準備中のため、バンドの facebook のページで詳細をご覧ください。


[ Member ]



EMANUELE CASALI: Rythm guitar, Keyboards



Broken Balance (2014)


01. Losing My Ego

02. Hole In The Silence

03. Sunrise To Sunset

04. To Late

05. Broken Balance

06. Faithless

07. Mirror Of Your Soul

08. Risk And Dare

09. Break Me Down

10. Understand

11. Ending Season

12. You Make Me Better

ASTRA Website | facebook | MySapce 

Write a comment

Comments: 0