POWERPLAY is a five-piece AOR band founded in Copenhagen, Denmark in 1987. The music was heavily inspired by TOTO, Journey, Starship and other West Coast bands of that time and with a twist from Supertramp, but always with a twist of pure energy and the desire to perform with own composed music. The band was constantly on the move and played in many underground places around Copenhagen like Umatic and Loppen, and became rather popular in those environments. In 1991 POWERPLAY won the music award “Let’s Rock” in Trommen as the best performing act and with that title also a contract for a record at Werner Studio in Copenhagen. Unfortunately, due to some very sad circumstances, the band never came to the point of making the record, and as such POWERPLAY stopped their activities in 1992. After 20 years of silence, they are back in the original line-up. Their new album “All Those Years” has been just released on September 4th through Target Records. Fan of AOR or Melodic Rock should check it out.


POWERPLAY は デンマークのコペンハーゲンで1987年に結成された5人組 AOR バンドです。 TOTO や JOURNEY、 STARSHIP あるいは Supertramp のヒネリを加えた 当時のウエストコーストのバンドに強く触発された音楽性ですが、常にピュアなエネルギーのヒネリでありオリジナル曲を演奏したいという欲望があります。 バンドは絶えず活動していて、Umatic や Loppen といったコペンハーゲンのアンダーグラウンドな場所の至る所で演奏もしていて、かなり有名にもなりました。 1991年には、ベストパフォーミングバンドとして Trommen の音楽賞 “Let's Rock” を受賞し、コペンハーゲンにある Werner Studio でのレコード契約を結んでいます。 しかし問題が発生してしまい残念ながらアルバム制作には至らず、1992年に POWERPLAY は活動を休止してしまいます。 そして20年ぶりにオリジナルメンバーで戻ってきました。 彼らの新作 “All Those Years” は昨日9月4日に Target Records よりリリースされたばかりで、日本では下記のオンラインストアにて購入可能です。 AOR やメロディックロックファンは要チェックです。

[ Members ]

Erik Thomsen: Lead vocal

Kurt Lundgaard: Guitar

Phillip Stricker: Bass

Peter Gjedde: Keyboards

Simon Dalberg: Drums, Backing vocals

         City Of Love

All Those Years (2015)

01. City Of Love

02. Powerplay

03. Why Are You Running Away

04. Going Home

05. All Those Years

06. Cry Freedom

07. So What

08. Climb A Mountain

09. Don't Walk Away

10. Bad Bone


POWERPLAY Website | facebook 

Write a comment

Comments: 0