CONTRIVE [Australia]


CONTRIVE is a heavy metal band from Melbourne, Australia formed by twin brothers Paul Haug (vocals, guitars) and Andrew Haug (drums) in 1999. They have released two EPs and three studio albums to date. On September 1st, 2017, their third album “Slow Dissolve”, mixing by The Young Bros. Productions has been released. On the latest album, they are offering the intuitive and progressive heavy metal, and a modern production and liberal dose of electronic effects meet some old school metal crunch via surging riffs and punishing drums. Lyrically, the album is a loose concept about the varying options we all now have to communicate with each other but also creating a catch 22 that the digital age is also turning many people away from real connection or creating a fear anxiety of it. CONTRIVE has shared stages with the likes of Opeth, Stone Sour, Sepultura, Soilwork, Machine Head, Testament, Cavalera Conspiracy, Coroner and more. Internationally they opened for Parkway Drive in Bangkok, Thailand and were the first Australian band to ever play in Vietnam, resulting in them selling out the 800 seat Hard Rock Cafe in Ho Chi Minh City. CONTRIVE has always done it in its way, independently or for each other. With “Slow Dissolve”, the brothers Haug truly are taking on the world together. Literally side by side.


CONTRIVE は1999年に双子の兄弟 Paul Haug (ボーカルとギター) と Andrew Haug (ドラム) が作った、オーストラリアのメルボルン出身のヘビーメタルバンドで、2作の EP と3作のスタジオアルバムをリリースしています。今年9月1日に The Young Bros. Productions のミキシングで3作目のアルバム “Slow Dissolve” をリリースしたところです。最新作は直感的でプログレッシブなヘビーメタルとなっていて、現代風な作り方と革新的な電子効果が逆巻くリフや打ち付けるドラムによって断片的に昔風なメタルを表現しています。歌詞的には、お互いにコミュニケーションを取らなければならない様々な選択肢についての緩めのコンセプトアルバムですが、デジタル時代がもたらす、人々の真のつながりの喪失やその恐怖心に対するジレンマを取り上げています。CONTRIVE は、Opeth や Stone Sour、Sepultura、 Soilwork、Machine Head、Testament、Cavalera Conspiracy、Coroner などとステージ共有を行ったことがあります。また、国際的にはタイのバンコクで Parkway Drive の前座を務めたり、オーストラリアのバンドとしては初めてベトナムでライブを行い、ホーチミン市の Hard Rock Cafe で800席完売を果たしています。この Haug 兄弟は常に自分たちのやり方で、単独で、あるいはお互いに成し遂げてきていて、彼らは正に “Slow Dissolve” のアルバムで共に、文字通り肩を並べて、世界に挑んでいます。最新作 “Slow Dissolve” は、日本では下記のオンラインストアにてデジタル購入可能です。


[ Member ]

Paul Haug: Guitar, Lead vocals

Andrew Haug: Drums


Slow Dissolve (2017)


01. Connect-dead

02. What's Mine

03. The Immediate Age

04. You're Owned

05. The Human Game

06. Throwaway

07. Below The Line

08. Slow Dissolve



Write a comment

Comments: 0