SHAFT OF STEEL is a six-piece Melodic Hard Rock band based in London, UK. The band was formed in 2004 at Hull University, then went their separate ways after graduating. The band’s self-titled debut EP was released independently in 2014 and picked up plaudits in the music press all around the globe, appearing in Classic Rock AOR, Powerplay and Fireworks magazines and a host of online publications. SHAFT OF STEEL subsequently made their first live appearance with their new line-up, supporting UK melodic rock heavyweights VEGA at The Garage in London in 2014. Since then, they’ve appeared at the prestigious HRH AOR Festival in North Wales and The Underworld in Camden.


SHAFT OF STEEL will release their first album “Steel Heartbeat” through AOR Heaven on February 28th, 2020. They have taken influence from a range of melodic hard rock and AOR acts, including Work of Art, FM, Harem Scarem, Strangeways and Shy, yet being careful not to abandon their metal roots. “Steel Heartbeat” features backing vocals on all tracks from respected American producer/musician Dennis Ward (famous for being the bass player in legendary German hard rockers Pink Cream 69, Unisonic, Place Vendome). Ward appeared on the band’s debut EP and has also mastered the record. The album was produced and mixed by guitarist Alex Markham, as same as the debut EP.


SHAFT OF STEEL は英国ロンドンに拠点を置く、6人組のメロディック・ハードロックバンドです。2004年にハル大学で結成され、卒業後は解散しています。2014年にセルフタイトルのデビューアルバムを自主リリースしていますが、Classic Rock AOR や Powerplay、Fireworks などの雑誌やオンラインマガジンなどに取り上げられ世界中の音楽メディアで称賛されました。その後 SHAFT OF STEEL は新ラインナップで初ライブを行い、同年2014年にロンドンの The Garage で英国メロディックロック界の重鎮 VEGA をサポートしました。それ以来、ノースウェールズの名門 HRH AOR フェスティバルやカムデンの The Underworld に出演するようになりました。


SHAFT OF STEEL は来月2月28日に AOR Heaven よりファーストアルバム “Steel Heartbeat” をリリースすることになっています。このバンドは Work of Art や FM、Harem Scarem、Strangeways、Shy など様々なメロディック・ハードロックや AOR のバンドの影響を受けていますが、メタルのルーツは忘れていません。今作 “Steel Heartbeat” には、尊敬する米国のプロデューサーでミュージシャンの Dennis Ward (ドイツの伝説のハードロックバンド Pink Cream 69 のベーシスト、Unisonic、Place Vendome) が全トラックのバックコーラスとして参加しています。彼はまたバンドのデビュー EP にも参加しており、マスタリングも手掛けています。今作も前作デビュー EP 同様、バンドのギタリスト Alex Markham がプロデュースとミキシングを担当しています。


[ Members ]

Lead vocals: Robert Fenning

Guitar, Backing vocals: Alex Markham

Guitar: Adam Carruthers

Bass, Backing vocals: Dominic Swords

Keyboards: Chris Smurthwaite

Drums: Michael Levy


Steel Heartbeat (2020)


01. Touching You Every Day

02. I’ve Never Been Alone

      (With A Girl Like You Before)

03. All Because Of You

04. Together As One Tonight

05. Vulnerable Man

06. Falling Through The Flames

07. Body And Mind

08. Lucky Girl

09. You See Smoke When I See Fire

10. Every Time I Look At You


Write a comment

Comments: 0